• Standard Plate Fee: $33.00
  • Transfer Fee: $1.25
  • Late Fee: $15.00 plus interest
  • Ad valorem: Based on value of vehicle (set by State)
  • Sales Tax
  • IRP Information

  • Online – services.revenue-dekalbco-al.us/TagRenewal
    • You will need the PIN found on your renewal notice.
  • By mail
    • A renewal notice is mailed for each vehicle that is currently registered in DeKalb County.
    • The notices are mailed the first few days of each renewal month. Although these notices are mailed, it is still the responsibility of the vehicle owner to make sure the vehicle is registered and fees are paid on time.
    • Before mailing, the owner of the record will need to sign the notice and fill in their driver’s license number and expiration date.
    • Late renewals cannot be handled by mail. The owner will need to come into the office to handle late registrations.
  • In person (Fort Payne or Rainsville)
    • Please bring your courtesy reminder or a copy of the last registration, Alabama driver’s license, and insurance card(s) with you.
    • The best time to renew your tag in person is between the 11th and 25th of the month. Mondays and Fridays are high activity days in the office, along with the first working day following holidays.

  • Cash
  • Check
    • We do not accept out of state checks.
    • Online check fee is $1.50
  • Money Order
  • Credit/Debit Card
    • We do not accept American Express.
    • The online convenience fee is 2.5% + $0.30 processing fee + $2.00 mail fee.
    • A 2.5% convenience fee + $0.30 processing fee applies when paying with a debit or credit card in the office.

How much is the penalty for an expired plate?
$15.00 plus interest.

I have not renewed my tag in [X] years. What do I do?
Vehicles with late registrations are subject to ad valorem taxes for up to two years prior plus the current year.

When do I renew my tag?
Anytime during your renewal month.

More FAQs from the State of Alabama

MONTH LETTER
January A, D
February B
March C, E
April F, G, N
May H, O
June I, M
July L, P
August J, K, R
September Q, S, T
October U, V, W, X, Y, Z
October / November Manufactured Homes & Businesses

  • If your plate has not expired, you must wait until your renewal month to transfer your plate to DeKalb County.
  • If it is your renewal month, please bring your most recent tag receipt or renewal notice, driver license(s), and insurance(s) to one of our offices.
  • What do I need to bring if I own my vehicle?
    • Original certificate of title
    • Current registration from previous state or there will be a 15.00 penalty
    • Driver license(s)
    • Alabama Insurance
    • Bring vehicle or photo of VIN for VIN inspection
    • Owner(s) must be present for title transfer
  • What do I need to bring if my vehicle is financed?
    • Copy of original certificate of title or a fax from the lienholder containing the vehicle, owner, and lienholder information
    • Current registration from previous state or there will be a 15.00 penalty
    • Driver license(s)
    • Alabama Insurance
    • Bring vehicle or photo of VIN for VIN inspection
  • In order to avoid a $15 late registration fee, newly acquired vehicles must be registered within 20 calendar days of purchase.
  • Documentation needed for the purchase of a new/used vehicle depends on who the vehicle was purchased from.

    • Alabama Dealer
      • Application for Title (paper copy with barcode at top from AL Dept of Revenue)
      • Bill of Sale to verify State and County sales tax were paid
      • Tag receipt from old vehicle if transferring tag
      • Ask about credit voucher if old vehicle traded in or sold
      • Alabama insurance
      • Driver License(s)
    • Out-of-State Dealer
      • Original Title or MSO/Certificate of Origin if new vehicle and any supporting documents
      • Bill of Sale to see how much sales tax is owed
      • Tag receipt from old vehicle if transferring tag
      • Ask about credit voucher if old vehicle traded in or sold
      • Alabama insurance
      • Driver License(s)
      • Bring vehicle or photo of VIN for VIN inspection
    • Individual with an Alabama Title
      • Original Title (or Application for Title if financed with an Alabama Designated Agent) and any supporting documents
      • Bill of Sale with purchase price (to calculate sales tax) and signed by former owner
      • Tag receipt from old vehicle if transferring a tag
      • Ask about credit voucher if old vehicle traded in or sold. If applying for credit voucher, a notarized bill of sale is required.
      • Vehicle is subject to escape taxes of up to two years if current tag receipt from former owner is not provided. See notice below.**************************************
      • Alabama insurance
      • Driver License(s)
      • Bring vehicle or photo of VIN for VIN inspection
    • Individual with an Out of State Title
      • Original Title (or Application for Title if financed with an Alabama Designated Agent) and any supporting documents
      • Bill of Sale with purchase price (to calculate sales tax) and signed by previous owner
      • Tag receipt from old vehicle if transferring tag
      • Ask about credit voucher if old vehicle traded in or sold. If applying for credit voucher, a notarized bill of sale is required.
      • If vehicle is not titled in other state, a copy of complete registration from other state, signed by previous owner**************************************
      • Alabama insurance
      • Driver License(s)
      • Bring vehicle or photo of VIN for VIN inspection

    • Alabama dealer:
      • Application for Title (paper copy with barcode at top from AL Dept of Revenue)
      • Bill of Sale to verify State and County sales tax were paid
      • Tag receipt from old trailer if transferring tag
      • Ask about credit voucher if old trailer traded in or sold
      • Driver License(s)
    • Out-of-state dealer:
      • Original Title or MSO/Certificate of Origin if new trailer and any supporting documents
      • Bill of Sale to see how much sales tax is owed
      • Tag receipt from old trailer if transferring tag
      • Ask about credit voucher if old trailer traded in or sold
      • Driver License(s)
      • Bring trailer or photo of VIN for VIN inspection
    • Individual (Alabama):
      • Original Title (or Application for Title if financed*******************************) and any supporting documents
      • Bill of Sale with purchase price (to calculate sales tax) and signed by former owner
      • Tag receipt from old trailer if transferring a tag
      • Ask about credit voucher if old trailer traded in or sold. If applying for credit voucher, a notarized bill of sale is required.
      • Vehicle is subject to escape taxes of up to two years if current tag receipt from former owner is not provided. See notice below.**************************************
      • Driver License(s)
      • Bring trailer or photo of VIN for VIN inspection
    • Individual (Out of State):
      • Original Title (or Application for Title if financed)**************************** and any supporting documents
      • Bill of Sale with purchase price (to calculate sales tax) and signed by previous owner
      • Tag receipt from old trailer if transferring tag
      • Ask about credit voucher if old trailer traded in or sold. If applying for credit voucher, a notarized bill of sale is required.
      • If trailer is not titled in other state, a copy of complete registration from other state, signed by previous owner**************************************
      • Driver License(s)
      • Bring trailer or photo of VIN for VIN inspection

    • Bill of Sale with purchase price (to calculate sales tax) and signed by previous owner
    • Tag receipt from old trailer if transferring tag
    • Ask about credit voucher if old trailer traded in or sold. If applying for credit voucher, a notarized bill of sale is required.
    • Alabama insurance for vehicle/RV
    • Driver License(s)
    • Bring vehicle/RV/trailer or photo of VIN for VIN inspection (if vehicle/RV/trailer was not registered in Alabama within the last two (2) years). Utility trailers are exempt from VIN inspection.

What do I do if I lost my decal and/or plate?
The owner of record must come into our office with current proof of insurance/driver license to receive a replacement. The replacement will cost $2.00.

What do I do if I lost my tag receipt?
The owner of record must come into our office with current proof of insurance/driver license to receive a replacement.

What if I am the owner and I cannot come into the office?
You must fill out/sign the Replacement Form. You may have someone bring the completed replacement form and a copy of your insurance/driver license to our office.

How do I obtain a Disability Plate/Placard?
You must sign and have your doctor fill out the Application for Disability Parking and bring the completed form to our office.

What is the charge for a Disability Placard?
There is no charge for a Disability Placard.

What is the charge for a Disability Plate?
There is no additional charge for a Disability Plate. Standard plate fees apply.

How many Disability Placards may I have?
If you do not have a Disability Plate, then you may have two (2) Disability Placards.
If you have a Disability Plate, then you may have one (1) Disability Placard.

How many Disability Plates may I have?
There is no limit, as long as the vehicle is titled in the name of the person making application.

What if I lose my Disability Placard?
The owner of record must come into our office to receive a replacement placard. There is no charge for a replacement Disability Placard.

What if I lose my Disability Plate?
The owner of record must come into our office with current proof of insurance/driver license to receive a replacement. The replacement will cost $2.00.

What if I need a replacement Disability Placard/Plate and I cannot come in to the office?
You must fill out/sign the bottom of page 2 of the Application for Disability Parking Form. You may have someone bring the completed replacement form to our office. If you need a replacement Disability Plate, please attach a copy of your insurance/driver license.

A personalized plate can be acquired for most private passenger and commercial vehicles, and some motorcycle, bus, camper or antique vehicles. The combination of letters/numbers requested must not conflict with the regular number system and is subject to State of Alabama Revenue Department approval. A maximum of seven characters will be allowed on Alabama’s standard personalized plate.

  • The fee for a personalized tag is $50.00 each year over and above your standard issuance fee and ad valorem tax. In the year a metal plate is issued, there will be an additional charge of $5.00. If the personalized tag is stolen or lost, you can apply for a replacement tag and decal at a cost of $2.00.
  • Personalized plates can be ordered at either of our offices. You can save time by visiting the Alabama Department of Revenue website to see if your choice is available. If your request is approved by the Alabama Department of Revenue, you will have five days to come into one of our offices complete the necessary paperwork and pay the required fees. A registration receipt will be provided as well as a 60 day temporary tag (no charge for the temporary tag). After the license plate is manufactured, it will be shipped directly to your address within four to five weeks.

Beginning January 1, 2013, license plate issuing officials will attempt to verify liability insurance utilizing the State of Alabama Online Insurance Verification System (OIVS), which will allow license plate issuing officials to immediately verify the insurance status of a vehicle at any point in time.


Where can I find information?

Sales Tax for a Vehicle Purchased from an Individual/AL Dealer

State County City Police Jurisdiction
Collinsville 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25%
Crossville 2.0% 0.5% 0.75% 0.375%
Fort Payne 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.0%
Fyffe 2.0% 0.5% 2.0% 1.0%
Geraldine 2.0% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5%
Hammondville 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25%
Henagar 2.0% 0.5% 1.5% 0.75%
Ider 2.0% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5%
Lakeview 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.0%
Mentone 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25%
Powell 2.0% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5%
Rainsville 2.0% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5%
Sylvania 2.0% 0.5% 1.5% 0.75%
Valley Head 2.0% 0.5% 2.0% 1.0%

Use Tax for a Vehicle Purchased from an Out of State Dealer

State County City Police Jurisdiction
Collinsville 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25%
Crossville 2.0% 0.5% 0.75% 0.375%
Fort Payne 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.0%
Fyffe 2.0% 0.5% 2.0% 1.0%
Geraldine 2.0% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5%
Hammondville 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25%
Henagar 2.0% 0.5% 1.5% 0.75%
Ider 2.0% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5%
Lakeview 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.0%
Mentone 2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25%
Powell 2.0% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5%
Rainsville 2.0% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5%
Sylvania 2.0% 0.5% 1.5% 0.75%
Valley Head 2.0% 0.5% 2.0% 1.0%